Association for Mathematics of Language

MOL is a special interest group of the Association for Computational Linguistics ACL Logo

Eighth Meeting on Mathematics of Language

Second Call for Papers

MoL8 is the eighth Mathematics of Language Conference and will be held June 20-22, 2003, in conjunction with the North American Summer School in Logic, Language and Information, in Bloomington, Indiana.

Aims and Scope

MoL8 hopes to provide a platform for presentation of new and original research on all mathematical linguistics and the mathematical study of natural languages.
Themes of interest include, but are not limited to
  • formal language theory;
  • formal and computational syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and phonology;
  • model-theoretic and proof-theoretic methods in linguistics;
  • constraint-based and resource-sensitive approaches to grammar;
  • foundational, methodological and architectural issues in grammar;
  • logical aspects of linguistic structure;
  • mathematical foundations of statistical approaches to linguistic analysis.


Statistical and Symbolic Aspects of Natural Language Learnability

Special Sessions and Invited Speakers


Submission Details

We invite email submissions of abstracts for 30-minute papers (including questions, comments, and discussion).
A submission should consist of two parts:
  • an information sheet (in ascii), containing the name of the author(s), affiliation(s), e-mail and postal address(es) and a title;
  • an abstract, consisting of a description of not more than 5 pages (including figures and references). Abstracts may be either in plain ASCII or in (unix-compatible encoded) postscript, PDF, or DVI.

Abstracts can be sent to

Abstract Submission Deadline

February 15, 2003

Notification of Acceptance

March 30, 2003


A full version of the accepted paper will be included in the conference proceedings, to be distributed at the conference. Full papers are due May 1, 2003.

Programme Committee

  • Anne Abeillé (Paris 7)
  • Tilman Becker (DFKI)
  • Patrick Blackburn (LORIA)
  • Pierre Boullier (INRIA)
  • Gosse Bouma (Groningen)
  • Wojciech Buszkowski (Poznań)
  • Christophe Fouquere (Paris 13)
  • Nissim Francez (Haifa)
  • Thilo Goetz (IBM)
  • Gerhard Jaeger (Potsdam)
  • David Johnson (IBM)
  • Mark Johnson (Brown)
  • Aravind Joshi (UPenn)
  • Ruth Kempson (London)
  • Andras Kornai (Metacarta)
  • Marcus Kracht (UCLA)
  • Uli Krieger (DFKI)
  • Geert-Jan Kruijff (Saarbrücken)
  • Natasha Kurtonina (Fitchburg)
  • Alain Lecomte (Grenoble)
  • Carlos Martin-Vide (Tarragona)
  • Jens Michaelis (Potsdam)
  • Mehryar Mohri (AT&T)
  • Uwe Mönnich (Tübingen)
  • Michael Moortgat (Utrecht)
  • Drew Moshier (Chapman)
  • Larry Moss (Indiana)
  • Mark-Jan Nederhof (Groningen)
  • Gertjan van Noord (Groningen)
  • Richard Oehrle (Berkeley, CA)
  • Gerald Penn (Toronto)
  • Stanley Peters (Stanford)
  • Geoffrey Pullum (Santa Cruz)
  • Owen Rambow (Columbia)
  • Christian Retore (INRIA & LaBRI, Bordeaux)
  • James Rogers (Earlham)
  • Robert van Rooy (Amsterdam)
  • Giorgio Satta (Padua)
  • Vijay K. Shanker (Delaware)
  • Ed Stabler (UCLA)
  • Mark Steedman (Edinburgh)
  • Hans Joerg Tiede (Illinois Wesleyan)
  • Christian Wartena (Potsdam)

For further information, visit NASSLLII.

The Organizers

Richard T. Oehrle:
James Rogers: